Executive committee

  • Helen Coleman

    Helen Coleman


    Helen was a member of the Nillumbik Shire Council from 2004 to 2016, and first elected as Mayor in December 2010; she served a second term in 2014/15. Helen has been a member of the Executive Committee since 2008.

    Helen was elected to the MAV Board in March 2015, joining former President Coral Ross.  It is believed to be the first time that two committee members had been on the Board together. 

    Helen can be reached on coleman27@gmail.com or 0437 940 930.

  • Helen Harris OAM

    Helen Harris OAM

    Executive Officer & Treasurer

    Helen Harris OAM was first elected to Whitehorse Council in 2005, was re-elected in 2008 and 2012 and served as Mayor in 2008/9. She retired from Council at the 2016 elections.
    She was awarded an OAM for services to community history in 1994, holds an MA from Monash University, and works as a professional historian.  She served as Victorian secretary from 2010 to 2016 and was awarded a Life Membership at the 2016 AGM.  She is also the organisation’s honorary archivist.  Helen was asked to become the Executive Officer of the Branch in June 2016.  She is also the National secretary.

    Helen can be contacted on 0429 833 324


  • Felicity Frederico

    Felicity Frederico

    Metro Vice President

    Felicity was first elected to the Bayside City Council in 2008 and was re-elected at the October 2012 Elections. She served as Mayor in 2014-15 and retired at the 2016 elections.  Felicity is a lifetime resident of Bayside where she lives with her young family in Hampton. Felicity led the sucessful Grass Ceilings campaign to promote increased facilities for girls playing sport.

     Felicity has a strong marketing background spanning more than two decades. She has tertiary qualifications in both Tourism and Marketing. Felicity has worked for large multi-national and medium-sized companies and currently works as a Business Advisor specialising in developing and implementing Marketing Plans and Strategies.

    Felicity can be reached on ffred@bigpond.net.au

  • Cr Jill Parker

    Cr Jill Parker

    Rural Vice President

    Cr Parker was first elected to Moyne Shire Council in November 2008 and re-elected in 2012 and 2016.  In November 2014 she was elected Deputy Mayor.

    Cr Parker has lived at Mortlake for more than 30 years, being a farming partner and teacher for many of those years. She has a background in education and agriculture, and an interest in the environment and sustainability. She is committed to promote agriculture as an important economic and responsible contributor to our communities; and she believes that education is a life-long process.

    As a councillor Jill is involved in several council and council-related committees. She is also involved in several organisations in and beyond the shire including Abbeyfield Australia Ltd, Anglican Church, CFA, Leadership Great South Coast, National Sea Change Taskforce, Western Coastal Board and the Victorian Coastal Council .

    Jill can be reached on jparker@moyne.vic.gov.au‎

  • Cr Coral Ross

    Cr Coral Ross

    Metro Representative

    Cr Ross was first elected to the City of Boroondara Council in 2002, and re-elected in 2004, 2008, 2012 and 2016. She was Mayor 2007-8; 2013-14 and 2014-2015. She has been Chair of Boroondara’s Planning Committee and Chair of Boroondara’s Services Committee. Cr Ross served as Boroondara’s representative to the Municipal Association of Victoria and in 2011 was elected to the MAV Board. She was re-elected in 2013 and 2015, and in November 2016 was appointed Interim President.  She is also Chair of the MAV’s Planning Advisory Committee and Deputy Chair of the Human Services Committee. 

    She chair’s Boroondara’s Town Hall Gallery Advisory committee and the Library Advisory Committee; she is also a member of the Communications committee, and various working groups.

    Coral retired as President at the 2016 AGM, as required under the Constitution, having served two full terms consecutively, as well as sharing the role with Jean Wise in 2011.

    Coral is also President of the National Board of ALGWA.  Coral was awarded a Hon Life Membership at the 2017 Annual General Meeting.

    She can be reached on


  • Barbara Abley AM

    Barbara Abley AM., CGSJ.

    Rural Representative

    Barbara was a City of Greater Geelong Councillor. She served three terms representing the Brownbill Ward first elected to council in 2001, previously served as Deputy Mayor (one year), and two years as Mayor, the first female to hold this senior position on the City of Greater Geelong Council, and in the history of Geelong City and Town (1832). She served across many Portfolio areas, Committees and Community groups.

    She was recognised in the 2007 Queens Birthday Honours’ List “For service to Local Government and Regional Development, particularly through the Geelong Region Alliance (G21) and to the community through a range of aged care, disability, health and service organisations”; awarded the Lions International Medal of Merit by the World President;Geelong 2003 Outstanding Zonta Woman of the Year. She has been awarded several Life Memberships of local organisations, the latest being that of the Geelong Regional Art Gallery in December 2012 and GIVE WHERE YOU LIVE in October 2013.

    She is easily contacted on Mobile: 0419358223 or by email: rivendell.b@bigpond.com

  • Jennifer Yang

    Jennifer Yang

    Committee Member

    Cr Yang was first elected to Manningham Council in January 2011 and served as Mayor in 2012/13. She was re-elected Mayor in 2015, and retired in 2016 to stand for the Australian Senate.  Cr Yang was a passionate advocate for a diverse range of community issues, particularly in the areas of services for senior citizens, young families, migrants and special needs groups.

    Her other areas of focus included sustainable urban developments, transport routes, road safety, environmental sustainability in Manningham, and promoting a fair and transparent process in decisions and actions.

    She was Manningham’s representative for the Victorian Local Governance Association and the multicultural committee member for Municipal Association of Victoria. She is an executive committee member of the National Australian Chinese Women’s Association, Melbourne Taiwanese Chamber of Commerce, and honorary advisor for a number of community organisations.

  • Committee Member

    Cr Marg Attley

    Committee Member

    Cr Attley was elected to Mansfield Shire Council in 2005 and in 2016 re-elected for a fourth term. On two occasions, Marg had the honour of being chosen as Mayor. With a teaching, community development and mediation background, her role in Council expanded her communication skills, passion for young people and advocacy for the issues of community members.

    ALGWA has been integral in her time in Local Government. For several years, Marg has been President of the successful NE Branch of ALGWA which has provided her with the opportunity to support women in Local Government in rural Victoria.

    In February 2017 Marg was elected President of the VLGA.

    Marg brings a strong commitment to, and passion for, social justice and inclusive communities.

    Contact details: marg.attley@Mansfield.vic.gov.au

    Phone:  0400 256 035.

  • Committee Member

    Cr Wendy Buck

    Committee Member

    First elected to Moira Shire Council in 2010 and re-elected in 2012 and 2016, Wendy is a graduate of both the Moira Shire Community Leadership program and the Fairley Leadership program.  She can be reached on wbuck@moira.vic.gov.au